Dear “Autism Parents”,

Could not have said it any better. This isn’t to cause arguments or drama. This is to explain my point of view- Of someone who IS Autistic and identifies as such. By trying to separate it, you’re trying to imply it’s “bad” and needs to be eradicated or “cured”. It’s just not fair.

Just Stimming...

I want to clear a couple of things up.

1.

I don’t have autism. I am autistic. This is important to me. It also doesn’t mean that I “see myself as a disability first and a person second,” whatever that is supposed to mean. In my eyes, I’m Julia. Just Julia.

I cannot separate out which parts of me brain are wired because baby I was born this way and which parts of my brain should be marked off as AUTISM. Nor do I particularly care, to be honest. I am Julia, and a significant fraction of Julia is autism (and thus, via the transitive property, I am autism but that’s not the point). Am I a writer because I’m Julia, or because I’m autistic? My writing is good in its own right, I am told, and it’s also fundamentally shaped by my neurology–just like yours. I like

View original post 2,015 more words

~ by silachan on October 17, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
lostcompanion

Alcoholism

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Just Stimming...

A land we can share (a place I can map)

