Falling behind.

Everyone grows up faster than me. I’ve felt like this before, like people grow up, and like I don’t, and I get left behind. I don’t know how to adjust to adult life. When I was younger, I was known for being particularly mature, now, as a young adult, I feel trapped between being a child and an adult, where other people my age are making this transition, and I’m stuck behind, unable to follow.I don’t know how to take care of myself. I don’t know how to do things that others find simple. As I’ve been getting older, my challenges have been becoming more apparent, because being in school was easy for me, but this isn’t. And watching around me, other people aren’t having this. They went through, they had discomfort as a teenager, they are still not entirely settled as young adults, but they are settling into adult life, getting jobs, and taking care of themselves. They’re growing up.I’m not. I’m stuck here. And I’m left behind.I’ve felt left behind here at a few points in the past – I didn’t grow up the same as other already. My friends from high school grew up before me. They grew up when they went to college in ways I didn’t, and when they made new friends, I only found Bob, and when they started jobs, I hadn’t, and they’re ahead of me in life.

Mostly copypasted from a friend’s blog because of how much I relate to it. Changed up a couple things, but the base remains.

~ by silachan on October 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
lostcompanion

Alcoholism

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Just Stimming...

A land we can share (a place I can map)

